How to Avoid Feeling Sleepy Throughout the Day

Hi lovely people! Today, I want to share with you a routine that I’ve discovered recently: how to avoid feeling sleepy during the day, either at work or at school.

Ever since I was a kid, I tend to love sleeping and I often take naps during the afternoons, especially right after lunch. When I was a younger, it was OK, but as I got older (I’m 23, btw, not that old yet..but ya know what I mean), I realized that I have to stay awake throughout the day, since I have to do my work.

Studies have shown that sleeping ‘too much’ has something to do with anxiety disorders, depression and other health problems. I did have some problems with depression before but, since we don’t want to go down that road, let’s jump to the solution.

The first thing I had to do was to change my daily habits. Take note that I work from home.

I used to take a nap around 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM. After that, I take a shower and proceed back to work. What I do now instead is take a shower right after lunch (because this is when I feel sleepy the most). The shower helps me to stay awake until night time. I don’t feel sleepy after that.

Another thing I discover on how to avoid feeling sleepy throughout the day is to eat fresh fruits. I prefer apples for this because they are juicy. I buy a bag of apples each week and keep them inside the fridge, so when I eat them, they are cold and refreshing. Fruit juices and smoothies work well too.

Drinking lots of water and/or fruit juice is very important. Studies say that we feel sleepy when we don’t drink enough water and lack of water slows down our system. This confuses the brain, and instead of telling us that we are thirsty, it gives us the impression that we are sleepy instead. But the truth is, all we need is water. Amazing isn’t it?

I don’t really recommend drinking coffee. I personally gave up drinking coffee. They say that caffeine dries up the body. Experts suggest that if you do drink coffee each day, make sure to double your water intake. So if you’re drinking 8 glasses of water each day, if you drink coffee, drink about 16 glasses. That way, there’s a balance. I gave up coffee because it was giving me palpitations and headaches. In the morning, I just drink one or two glasses of water and a cup of warm milk, that’s it. I do feel so much awake after that.

Another way of staying awake during the day is to have proper ventilation. You’ll be able to stay awake if it’s a bit cold. Warm environments make us feel sleepy.

I live in Asia and we eat rice at lunch time and I found out that too much carbohydrates intake can make you sleepy. It is not advised to eat a heavy lunch if you want to stay awake throughout the day. Sometimes, i just eat vegetables (preferably fresh), and some chicken or tuna for lunch with an apple and a banana. Mind you, I’m not on a diet or something, I’m actually trying to gain weight. lol. I just cut off some carbs from my lunch so that I can stay awake.

Light exercises also help. I do yoga now, so I prefer that. I used to do weights and aerobics exercises, but I feel a lot better with yoga. Also, make sure it’s just light exercises because heavy ones will make you feel tried and more likely to feel sleepy after.

Listening to some music is also a good thing if you’re used to working with the music on. I usually don’t listen to any music while working because it’s a bit distracting for me, since I work as a writer and i have to really focus. When I do some encoding work, I can put on some music, but I don’t often do encoding these days.

Those are the things I do to avoid feeling sleepy throughout the day. I discovered these through personal experience and I do not claim that any of these works for everybody, but they do work for me. πŸ™‚

Have a nice day!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adnan Galib
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 11:22:38

    ZZzzz…… ZZzzzz…. Zz

    Reply

  2. Wranglers
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 12:49:44

    Thanks John

    Reply

Leave a Reply

